Your contract demands $2M tech E&O and cyber: the fastest way to a certificate (2026)

Executive summary

The fastest path is to bind a policy that meets every line of the contract's insurance clause, then send the certificate. Embroker, Hiscox and Insureon say most certificates go out the day you bind. What stalls deals is what a certificate can't fix: a missing endorsement, or one $2M limit shared by tech E&O and cyber when the contract wants $2M each.

Your enterprise deal is ready to sign. Then legal sends the insurance exhibit: $2M technology errors and omissions (tech E&O), $2M cyber, and a certificate of insurance before signature. The certificate feels like the deadline. It is the easy part.

A certificate of insurance is a one-page summary of a policy you already hold. New York’s insurance regulator states the rule plainly: a certificate cannot change, expand or extend a policy. So the fastest route runs through the policy, not the paperwork. Bind the policy the clause describes and the certificate takes minutes. Bind the wrong one and no certificate can fix it.

Work in this order: read the clause, prepare the application, pick a channel that can bind those terms, then bind and send proof. Who can sue you under the contract, and why customers demand these limits, is covered on pleasedontsue.us.

Read the insurance clause first

Your customer’s exhibit sets the spec. Check each term against the quote before you bind. A mismatch found after binding costs a policy change, a new certificate and the days in between.

Clause termWhat it meansCheck before you bind
Per-claim limit and aggregate$2M for one claim; the most paid in the policy yearBoth numbers on the quote
Each line or shared$2M per line, or one $2M for both linesAsk the customer which they mean
Defense inside limitsLegal bills reduce the $2MWhether defense costs erode the limit
Claims-made and retroactive dateCovers claims made during the policy, for work after the retro dateRetro date on or before your first work for this customer
Tail (extended reporting period)A window to report claims after the policy endsWhether it is available for the years the clause names
Additional insuredYour customer covered under your policyThe carrier adds it by endorsement
Waiver of subrogationYour insurer gives up recovery against the customerEndorsement available on these lines
Primary and non-contributoryYour policy pays first, without the customer’s insuranceWording in the policy or an endorsement

The limit line causes the most rework. “$2M tech E&O and cyber” can mean $2M for each line, or one $2M limit both lines share. An aggregate is the most a policy pays in the policy period, and on a combined form both lines draw it down. Vouch’s own worked example shows the math: a $2M aggregate shared by tech E&O and cyber has about $600,000 left after a $1.4M cyber loss.

Ask your customer one question before you bind: “$2M each, or $2M combined?” Morrow’s sample clause sets $2M per claim for professional liability and $2M per claim for cyber, which reads as separate limits. If the answer is “each,” quote separate limits from the start.

Have your security answers ready

A cyber quote moves as fast as its application. Insureon publishes what its cyber application asks:

  • multi-factor authentication and where you enforce it
  • remote access (VPN or zero-trust) and privileged-access management
  • compliance obligations such as PCI DSS, HIPAA or GDPR
  • revenue for the prior and current year, and headcount
  • prior cyber incidents and claims
  • the coverages, limits and deductibles you want

Answer these in one sitting with whoever owns your security program. Gaps slow the file: Embroker says a submission referred to an underwriter takes “hours to a few days.”

Pick a channel that can bind those terms

Your channel decides whether you leave today with a bound policy or wait on quotes. We compared eight channels startups commonly use. The criteria are the ones that control speed: online binding, tech E&O and cyber together, certificate turnaround, endorsement handling and human review. Each cell quotes the provider’s own page, opened October 29, 2026. “Not stated publicly” means no current page says. For a wider look at where to shop, see where startups compare cyber and tech E&O quotes.

Provider (type)Bind online or quote firstTech E&O and cyber togetherCertificate turnaround (their words)Endorsements
Embroker (digital broker)Online: “Get a quote and buy your policy right away”Yes: “Tech E&O + Cyber policies”Most “sent instantly”; complex ones “up to 24 hours”Blanket additional insured and waiver templates; you name the party
Vouch (digital broker)Online for smaller programs: “as fast as minutes”Not stated publicly”instant COIs”Not stated publicly
Corgi (program administrator, affiliated carrier)“can bind policies the same day""Corgi bundles both”; one policy or two not stated”compliant COIs and endorsements within hours""within hours,” with certificates
Insureon / TechInsurance (online agency)Online: “You can buy a policy online”Yes: tech E&O “includes both E&O insurance and cyber insurance""on the same day” (Insureon); “within hours of buying” (TechInsurance)Not stated publicly
Hiscox (direct carrier)“quote and buy in minutes … immediate coverage”Not stated publicly; cyber sold as its own policy”emailed immediately”Additional insureds “immediately,” by phone with an agent
Coalition (cyber carrier)Through a brokerPairs with Active Cyber: “Combine Technology Errors & Omissions coverage with Active Cyber”Not stated publiclyNot stated publicly
Morrow (broker)Quotes first; the broker binds”often packaged together""within hours of binding, sometimes within 30 minutes”Not stated publicly
RiskCube (broker)Quote and bind “typically within 1–2 business days”Not stated publicly; sold as two lines”within 24 hours of binding”Not stated publicly

Human review: Embroker in-house brokers; Insureon licensed agents; Hiscox licensed agents; Morrow licensed producers; RiskCube licensed brokers review every recommendation; Vouch advisors; Corgi guidance on request; Coalition through your broker.

Three details change the choice:

  • Hiscox’s online limits top out at $2M. Hiscox offers professional liability limits “up to $2,000,000” online and considers higher limits on request, “if required by contract.” A $2M clause sits at the top of that range.
  • Coalition sends buyers to a broker. Its business page tells buyers to ask their cyber broker, and Coalition matches you with one if you have none.
  • Corgi places some coverage with a risk retention group. Corgi’s footer names Technology Risk Retention Group as one issuer. The NAIC notes that federal law bars risk retention groups from state guaranty funds. Ask which entity issues your policy.

The Hartford also issues certificates online: “In most cases, you’ll get your certificate instantly.” Its current pages don’t say whether it sells tech E&O and cyber together, so it is not in the table.

Komodo Risk, Inc., the licensed P&C broker that publishes this site, compares tech E&O and cyber indications from several carriers in one application at Komodo. Measured against the table, it’s slower: Komodo shows non-binding indications first, not bindable quotes, and doesn’t publish a certificate turnaround. Komodo says it holds P&C licenses in seven states (CT, NY, NJ, VA, PA, TX, CA), so a company elsewhere needs another channel. Its tech E&O page makes the same point as the limit check above: a shared limit means one incident can use up insurance other claims need.

Broker licenses above are self-reported. Check any producer by name or national producer number on NIPR’s lookup before you pay.

Bind, then send the certificate and endorsements

Binding creates the coverage; the certificate only reports it. If the policy hasn’t issued yet, ask for a binder, the carrier’s temporary written proof of coverage. Once you bind and pay, request the certificate with your customer’s exact legal name and address as the certificate holder, the party the certificate is addressed to.

A certificate holder is not an additional insured. An additional insured is a party covered under your policy, and only an endorsement (a written change to the policy) creates that status. New York’s regulator says it directly: naming the customer on the certificate does not make them an insured. When the clause requires additional insured, waiver of subrogation or primary and non-contributory wording, send the endorsement pages with the certificate.

What the certificate proves, and what it doesn’t:

  • It proves that a policy with these limits and dates existed on the day the certificate was issued.
  • It doesn’t prove that the policy covers the work in this contract, that it is still in force, or that your customer has any rights under it.

That is the whole sequence: the clause sets the spec, the policy meets it, and the certificate reports it.

For a box-by-box read of the form, see how to read a certificate of insurance. For why customers ask for one at all, see why a certificate of insurance is required.

What other evaluators say

NerdWallet’s cyber insurance picks (updated February 20, 2026) favor large carriers. It scores financial strength, complaints and ease of buying, and notes which carriers sell online. MoneyGeek’s tech business ranking (updated October 29, 2026) weights affordability at half the score and treats tech E&O and cyber as separate policies. Both help you choose a carrier. Neither works through a contract clause, endorsements or a signing deadline.

Questions people actually ask

Can I get a certificate of insurance before I buy a policy? No. A certificate reports a bound policy, so every channel issues it after you bind. TechInsurance says it plainly: buy the policy first.

Does a combined tech E&O and cyber policy meet a $2M requirement? Yes, when the clause accepts a shared limit. When the clause sets $2M for each line, one shared $2M limit falls short. Ask your customer which they mean.

Can my customer be an additional insured on tech E&O? Only if the carrier adds them by endorsement. Ask before you bind; a certificate cannot add them.

How fast can I get a COI for an enterprise contract? Minutes to a day after you bind. Embroker says most certificates go out “instantly,” Hiscox emails them “immediately,” and Insureon says “the same day.” Binding takes longer when an underwriter reviews the file or the clause needs a custom endorsement.

Sources

  1. Primary source: New York Department of Financial Services — Certificate of insurance opinion — Under Insurance Law § 2307(b), a certificate cannot change, expand or extend a policy, and a certificate holder is not an additional insured. Accessed 2026-10-29.
  2. Primary source: NAIC — Risk retention groups — The federal Liability Risk Retention Act bars risk retention groups from state guaranty funds. Accessed 2026-10-29.
  3. Primary source: NIPR — Look up a National Producer Number — Verify any producer by name or NPN; state-by-state licenses can be checked here or with each state's insurance department.
  4. Context source: IRMI — Aggregate (glossary) — The most a policy pays for all covered losses in the policy period, usually one year. Accessed 2026-10-29.
  5. Context source: IRMI — Defense within limits (glossary) — Defense costs reduce the available limit; common in professional liability. Accessed 2026-10-29.
  6. Context source: IRMI — Claims-made policy (glossary) — Coverage is triggered by a claim made during the policy period, regardless of when the error occurred. Accessed 2026-10-29.
  7. Context source: IRMI — Retroactive date (glossary) — The date before which work falls outside a claims-made policy. Accessed 2026-10-29.
  8. Context source: IRMI — Extended reporting period (glossary) — A window after a claims-made policy ends during which claims are treated as made during the policy. Accessed 2026-10-29.
  9. Context source: IRMI — Additional insured (glossary) — A party added to a policy by endorsement, distinct from a certificate holder. Accessed 2026-10-29.
  10. Context source: IRMI — Waiver of subrogation (glossary) — The insurer gives up recovery against a party the insured waived rights against before a loss. Accessed 2026-10-29.
  11. Context source: IRMI — Primary and noncontributory (glossary) — The named party's policy pays first and does not seek contribution from the other party's insurance. Accessed 2026-10-29.
  12. Context source: IRMI — Binder (glossary) — Temporary written proof of coverage until the policy issues. Accessed 2026-10-29.
  13. Primary source: Embroker — Tech E&O coverage — Online quote and purchase; standalone Tech E&O or Tech E&O + Cyber policies. Accessed 2026-10-29.
  14. Primary source: Embroker — FAQ — Submissions referred to an underwriter take hours to a few days; in-house brokers. Accessed 2026-10-29.
  15. Primary source: Embroker — Certificate of insurance solution (May 26, 2026) — Most certificates sent instantly, complex ones up to 24 hours; blanket additional insured and waiver templates. Accessed 2026-10-29.
  16. Primary source: Vouch — Insurance for technology companies — Smaller programs as fast as minutes on its platform; instant COIs; advisors. Accessed 2026-10-29.
  17. Primary source: Vouch — What are shared limits in business insurance? (March 16, 2026) — Worked example of a $2M aggregate shared by tech E&O and cyber after a $1.4M cyber loss. Accessed 2026-10-29.
  18. Primary source: Corgi — SaaS insurance — COIs and endorsements within hours; bundles tech E&O and cyber; footer discloses an affiliated carrier and a risk retention group. Accessed 2026-10-29.
  19. Primary source: Corgi — Instant online quotes and same-day COIs (April 30, 2026) — Same-day binding claim, subject to underwriting approval. Accessed 2026-10-29.
  20. Primary source: Insureon — Technology business insurance — Buy a policy online; certificate the same day; licensed agents in all 50 states. Accessed 2026-10-29.
  21. Primary source: Insureon — Errors and omissions insurance — Tech E&O described as including both E&O and cyber insurance. Accessed 2026-10-29.
  22. Primary source: Insureon — Cyber insurance application — Published list of cyber application questions, including MFA, remote access and prior incidents. Accessed 2026-10-29.
  23. Primary source: TechInsurance — E&O certificate of insurance — Certificate within hours of buying; a policy must be bought first. Accessed 2026-10-29.
  24. Primary source: Hiscox — Contract insurance requirements — Quote and buy online; limits up to $2,000,000, higher on request; certificate emailed immediately; additional insureds by phone. Accessed 2026-10-29.
  25. Primary source: Hiscox — Cyber security insurance — Cyber sold online as its own policy. Accessed 2026-10-29.
  26. Primary source: Coalition — Technology errors and omissions insurance — Tech E&O combined with Active Cyber Insurance. Accessed 2026-10-29.
  27. Primary source: Coalition — Active Cyber Insurance for business — Buyers are directed to a cyber insurance broker, or matched with one. Accessed 2026-10-29.
  28. Primary source: Morrow — Professional liability for IT and technology services — COI within hours of binding, sometimes within 30 minutes; licensed brokerage (Afthonea Inc.). Accessed 2026-10-29.
  29. Primary source: Morrow — Professional liability (E&O) vs cyber insurance — Sample clause listing separate $2M limits; combined policies may share one aggregate. Accessed 2026-10-29.
  30. Primary source: RiskCube — FAQ — Quote and bind typically within 1–2 business days; COIs within 24 hours of binding; licensed broker review. Accessed 2026-10-29.
  31. Primary source: The Hartford — Certificate of insurance — Policyholders request certificates online; most issued instantly. Accessed 2026-10-29.
  32. Context source: NerdWallet — Best cyber insurance (updated February 20, 2026) — Evaluator picks scored on financial strength, complaints and ease of buying. Accessed 2026-10-29.
  33. Context source: MoneyGeek — Best tech business insurance (updated October 29, 2026) — Evaluator ranking weighted half on affordability. Accessed 2026-10-29.