Where a startup can compare cyber and tech E&O quotes across carriers (2026)

Executive summary

To compare several carriers and buy online in one sitting, use Insureon (or its TechInsurance site) or CyberPolicy. If a customer contract dictates your terms, apply through a broker such as Embroker, Vouch or Founder Shield, which negotiates those terms with carriers for you. Hiscox sells only its own policies online, so you see one carrier.

Your first enterprise customer wants cyber and tech E&O in place before it signs, and you want more than one carrier’s price on the table. Every site in this space says it compares carriers. They don’t all mean the same thing.

You aren’t choosing a carrier yet. You’re choosing a channel, and the channel decides three things: whether you can bind today, how many carriers actually quote you, and when the certificate your customer asked for exists. The table compares eight channels on those mechanics, using each provider’s own published terms.

Which channels let you buy online?

Marketplaces and direct carriers let you buy online. Brokers take your application online and then work the placement with carriers. “Bind” means the carrier commits to cover you and the policy takes effect. An indication is a non-binding estimate a carrier can change after underwriting; a quote you can bind is a firm offer.

ProviderChannelWhat you can do onlineCarriers you seeHuman review
Insureon / TechInsuranceMarketplaceCompare, buy, get a certificateNames dozens of partnersLicensed agents
CyberPolicyMarketplaceCompare and buyShows six carrier logosOptional licensed advisor
Insura.aiBrokerGet quotes; binding not statedSays 5+ carriersBroker on complex risks
EmbrokerBroker with its own policiesBuy its own Tech E&O and CyberOwn program plus brokered carriersLicensed brokers on request
Founder ShieldBrokerGet quotes; binding not statedSays a 200+ carrier networkOne-to-one advisor
VouchBrokerApply; binding not statedSays a 500+ partner networkAdvisors
CorgiCarrierQuote and bind; says same dayOwn and partner carriersNot stated publicly
HiscoxDirect carrierQuote and buyOne: HiscoxLicensed agents by phone

Licensing as published: CyberPolicy shows only a California license; Founder Shield doesn’t state its states; Corgi says not all products are available in all states. The rest say all 50 states (and DC). Verify any producer on NIPR.

Insureon publishes the clearest path from application to certificate. Its own page says you pay online and get a certificate, often within a few hours of applying. Embroker is the one broker that also sells its own digital Tech E&O and Cyber policies online, available within a few hours of binding and paying. Hiscox sells professional liability online and lists IT consultants among its customers; its pages don’t name a tech E&O product.

How we compared

We read each provider’s own public pages on October 29, 2026, and took nothing from listicles or reviews. Where a provider doesn’t publish a fact, the cell says “not stated publicly.” We didn’t start any quote flows.

Komodo Risk, Inc., the licensed P&C broker that publishes this site, runs its own multi-carrier flow at Komodo. We didn’t score it. On the same criteria, it shows non-binding indications from several carriers side by side, and you complete an application before any carrier binds. Komodo says it holds P&C licenses in seven states (CT, NY, NJ, VA, PA, TX, CA), and it doesn’t publish a certificate turnaround.

Do “multiple carriers” mean multiple quotes?

No. A logo wall tells you who a channel can place with, not who will quote your application. No provider in the table publishes how many carriers actually return a quote on a given submission. Insureon says some of its carriers operate only in certain states, so the list shrinks before underwriting starts.

The same carrier also shows up in several channels. Coalition sends buyers to a broker, and Insureon and Insura.ai both list it. If you apply through two channels, you may see the same carrier twice under two letterheads. That doesn’t widen your market.

Check who stands behind the policy, too. Corgi writes some lines through a risk retention group, and the NAIC notes that state guaranty funds don’t back risk retention group policies. Ask which entity issues each line before you bind.

What will the application ask?

Expect security questions as well as business ones. Insureon is the only provider in the table that publishes its cyber application contents. It asks about the business: ownership and structure, prior and projected revenue, and IT infrastructure. It asks about controls: multi-factor authentication, VPN, privileged access management, and media and website content. It also asks for claims history and the limits and deductibles you want.

Brokers dig further. The Coyle Group, a New York brokerage, lists what underwriters weigh for tech firms. Its list: multi-factor authentication, backups, SOC 2, an incident response plan, claims history, contract terms and reliance on vendors. Have those answers ready before you start any channel’s application.

Even Insureon’s own cyber application page calls its quote non-binding until you buy. Read each quote for what it commits to; how to read a commercial insurance quote walks through the lines that matter.

When do you get a certificate?

You get a certificate only after a policy is in force. A certificate of insurance is a one-page proof of coverage, usually an ACORD 25, that you hand a customer. Insureon says you need an active policy to request one. Embroker says you can create one once the policy is paid.

Three providers publish timing. Insureon says certificates are often available within a few hours of applying for quotes. Embroker says a basic certificate takes a few clicks on an active policy and that it handles custom requests with you. Vouch says it issues instant certificates. The other five don’t publish a turnaround.

If your contract names a specific limit or requires additional insured status, a same-day certificate only helps if the policy behind it matches. Check the limit against the contract before you bind; the contract-clause guide walks through each term a customer’s insurance exhibit sets. Our sister site covers how cyber and tech E&O split the liability, and how to read a certificate of insurance explains what the customer will check.

What other evaluators say

MoneyGeek, an independent evaluator, picks Chubb, Hiscox and Coalition, with half of its score weighted to price. NerdWallet, also independent, picks Chubb, The Hartford and Travelers, rating financial strength, complaint ratios and ease of buying. It notes that Travelers doesn’t quote online.

Insureon and TechInsurance publish seller explainers: useful definitions of tech E&O and cyber, written by a channel that sells both. The Coyle Group, a brokerage, argues for one combined tech E&O and cyber form and recommends a specialist broker.

None of them compares channels. They rank carriers, but a startup buys through a channel, and only the channel tells you whether you can bind today and when your certificate exists.

Questions people actually ask

Where can a small software company compare cyber and tech E&O quotes from several carriers online? Insureon (and TechInsurance) and CyberPolicy run one application across several carriers and let you buy online. Insura.ai returns quotes from several carriers but doesn’t publish whether you can bind online.

Can I buy cyber and tech E&O online without talking to a broker? Yes. Insureon, CyberPolicy, Corgi and Hiscox sell online, and Embroker sells its own digital Tech E&O and Cyber policies online. Use a broker when a customer contract sets terms the online forms don’t offer.

Is a quote from a comparison site bindable? Not until you accept the terms, pay, and the carrier binds the policy. Before that, the carrier can change terms after underwriting; Insureon’s own page calls its cyber quote non-binding.

How fast can I get a certificate for a customer? Only after you bind. Insureon says often within a few hours of applying, Embroker says a few clicks on an active policy, and Vouch says instant.

Sources

  1. Primary source: Insureon — How Insureon works — Accessed 2026-10-29. Provider's own page: the application process is entirely online; you pay online and get a certificate, often within a few hours of applying; a certificate requires an active policy.
  2. Primary source: Insureon — Our insurance partners — Accessed 2026-10-29. Provider's own page: names dozens of partner carriers, including Coalition, and says some operate only in certain states.
  3. Primary source: Insureon — Cyber insurance application — Accessed 2026-10-29 (page updated 2026-06-09). The only published list of cyber application contents among the providers compared; describes the quote as non-binding.
  4. Primary source: TechInsurance — Insurance for tech companies — Accessed 2026-10-29. Insureon's sister brand (both divisions of Specialty Program Group LLC): one online application, quotes from several carriers, licensed agents; says its agents cover all 50 states.
  5. Primary source: CyberPolicy — How it works — Accessed 2026-10-29. Provider's own page (CoverHound LLC): compare and buy online, coverage begins within 24 hours, optional licensed advisor, six carrier logos.
  6. Primary source: Insura.ai — Capability spec (llms-full.txt) — Accessed 2026-10-29. Provider's own file: independent brokerage, not a carrier; quotes within 24 hours; complex risks routed to a named broker; names its carriers. Binding is not stated.
  7. Primary source: Embroker — Tech E&O insurance — Accessed 2026-10-29. Provider's own page: quote and buy its digital Tech E&O and Tech E&O + Cyber policies online.
  8. Primary source: Embroker — FAQ — Accessed 2026-10-29. Provider's own page: licensed in all 50 states and DC; digital policies available within a few hours of binding and paying; certificates available after payment, only where Embroker is broker of record.
  9. Primary source: Embroker — Certificate of insurance — Accessed 2026-10-29. Provider's own page: a basic certificate takes a few clicks on an active policy; custom requests handled with the customer.
  10. Primary source: Founder Shield — Startup insurance — Accessed 2026-10-29. Provider's own page: Innovation Practice of The Baldwin Group; online application and quotes; one-to-one advisor; says it works with a network of 200+ carriers.
  11. Primary source: Vouch — Cybersecurity and tech coverage — Accessed 2026-10-29. Provider's own page: cyber and tech E&O, advisors, says it issues instant certificates and has a 500+ partner network.
  12. Primary source: Vouch — Licenses — Accessed 2026-10-29. Vouch Specialty Insurance Services, LLC lists P&C licenses for all 50 states and DC.
  13. Primary source: Corgi — Startup insurance — Accessed 2026-10-29. Provider's own page and footer: quote and bind same day; some lines take 1–14 days; Corgi Insurance Company, Inc. (NAIC #17989) and Technology Risk Retention Group, Inc. underwrite; not all products in all states.
  14. Primary source: Hiscox — Errors and omissions insurance — Accessed 2026-10-29. Direct carrier: online quote and purchase; lists IT consultants among the businesses it covers; licensed agents by phone.
  15. Primary source: Hiscox — Legal notices — Accessed 2026-10-29. Hiscox Insurance Company Inc. is admitted or licensed to do business in all 50 states and DC.
  16. Primary source: Coalition — For businesses — Accessed 2026-10-29. Carrier's own page sends buyers to a cyber insurance broker and offers broker matching; no self-serve quote.
  17. Primary source: NAIC — Risk retention groups — Accessed 2026-10-29. Regulator association: risk retention groups operate under the federal Liability Risk Retention Act, and state guaranty funds do not back their policies.
  18. Primary source: NIPR — Look up a license — Verify any producer by name or NPN; state-by-state licenses can be checked here or with each state's insurance department. Komodo Risk, Inc. is NPN 22314863.
  19. Context source: MoneyGeek — Best cyber insurance companies for small businesses — Accessed 2026-10-29 (updated 2026-09-09). Independent evaluator; picks weighted half to affordability.
  20. Context source: NerdWallet — Best cyber insurance — Accessed 2026-10-29 (updated 2026-02-20). Independent evaluator; rates financial strength, NAIC complaint ratios, ease of getting coverage and service.
  21. Context source: Insureon — Technology E&O vs. cyber insurance — Accessed 2026-10-29. Seller explainer from a channel that sells both lines.
  22. Context source: The Coyle Group — Technology business insurance — Accessed 2026-10-29 (modified 2026-08-17). Brokerage page listing what underwriters weigh for tech firms and arguing for one combined tech E&O and cyber form.